Continued Journey

It’s been 44 days since my last blog post about how many changes I’ve made in my life. It’s interesting to look back at a time that seems like forever ago, but also just yesterday. It’s strange. Moving is easier for me now, eating better is still challenging, and I could be doing much more to fix that. But change is not a linear experience. There are times when I don’t want to get up off of my couch, and then there are days when I want to get up and go. I have begun to feel somewhat restless at home when I used to want to stay there all day, every day.

I’m noticing all of these changes in how I think as well, where I once would drive past a Wendy’s and crave a spicy chicken sandwich, now I hardly notice the establishment is there. When I think about going for a walk, I’m no longer worrying about how much it’s going to ache during and after.

The changes are subtle and altogether subconscious, but I’m proud of them. It means that habits are being broken, it means that my body is healthier, it means that my mind is healthier. There are even times when I’ve set up exercise time with a friend and they bail on me, and I don’t use that as an excuse to just sit around – I go for the walk, myself.

I’ve lost 14 pounds so far, and that’s a slow progress as it too me 3 months to get there, but I’m still proud of it. And in the end, it’s not about losing weight so much as it is about being in less pain, being less worried about my health, and moving around with more ease – all of which is happening already, and will only continue.

Day 95 of my new lease on life, and I’m not regretting a single thing.

Published by

emariefera

Writer, graphic designer, photographer.

Leave a Reply

