American Gothic

By E. Marie Fera

(Response poem to the famous painting of the same name)

I see that woman, frown on her face;

I don’t envy her.

Waking up before dawn,

standing behind her man;

I don’t envy her.

I see the exhaustion in her eyes,

the dirt under her feet,

the confining clothes she wears;

I don’t envy her.

It’s hard to think the blue sky above her

is the same as mine;

just in another time.

Time passed and so did she;

So I know not of envy.

Published by

emariefera

Writer, graphic designer, photographer.

Leave a Reply

